top of page

Better elections now!

2020 executive committee membership

Shawn M. Lynch, Ph.d., Co-Founder and Co-President

I am Shawn M. Lynch, Ph.D., a Lecturer in Social Sciences at Boston University’s College of General Studies. I received my Masters’ Degree in United States History, 1500-present, from Villanova University in 1997; and a Ph.d. in 20th Century United States political history, with a concentration on free speech in times of crisis. My dissertation, “‘In Defense of True Americanism’: The Civil Liberties Union of Massachusetts and Radical Free Speech, 1915-1945,” examined the role of the Boston-based CLUM in defending free speech during that turbulent era. 


In 2016, in the aftermath of the election, myself, some of my students including our Vice President Amanda Pelrine, other faculty and friends founded Better Elections Now! to lobby the Presidential Electors to choose a candidate other than Clinton and Trump. This effort failed. 


In 2020, I reactivated Better Elections Now! with the enormous help of student volunteers (in alphabetical order) Caitlin Chin, Iris Fitzsimmons Christensen, Sammie Feldbaum, Sommer Hoffman, Karolina Hogan, Kyhee Park, Arman Sadighan, and others. 

I can be reached at or

Samantha Feldbaum, Co-President

Amanda Pelrine, Co-Founder and Vice President

Iris Fitzsimmons Christensen, Vice President for Communications

Karolina Hogan, Vice President for Research

Hi! My name is Karolina Hogan. I am a sophomore at Boston University studying International Relations and Public Health. I have volunteered for a few political campaigns in Virginia and I actively sign petitions. I have also attended various protests in Washington D.C. and I greatly appreciate Grassroots campaigns. That is why I joined Better Elections Now. I want to do what I can not only to get Americans to vote this November but also to educate them on their decision, whoever they may be. Researching for Better Elections Now has also helped me learn a lot about voting requirements across the United States.

Kyhee Park, Vice President for Social Media

Caitlin Chin, Deputy Vice President for Social Media

Sommer Hoffman, Director of Internet Technologies

Arman Sadighan, Director of Digital Media

bottom of page